Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety (IOSH Accredited)

Learners who complete the Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety will be able to manage health and safety policy and practice and will be able to recommend and implement policy changes.

Learners will develop knowledge and skills relevant to putting policy into practice, utilising management systems, resources, risk and incident management, leadership, and skills development.

Individuals completing the diploma qualification will be eligible to apply for the Graduate level of membership Grad IOSH.

This Level 6 Diploma is equivalent to Level 8 on the National Framework of Qualifications in Ireland.

For entry onto the OTHM Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety qualification, learners must possess:

  • Relevant NQF/QCF/RQF certificate or diploma or equivalent recognised qualification that covers the following basic concepts within Occupational Health & Safety:
    • Science and Technology
    • Legal and regulatory systems
    • Workplace safety and health
    • Definitions of risk and risk management principles
    • Principles and theories of safety and health management
    • Occupational health and hygiene
    • Occupational psychology
    • Information technology, literacy and numeracy
  • Qualifications that fulfil this requirement include:
    • British Safety Council Level 3 Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health
    • British Safety Council International Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health
    • NCFE IOSH Level 3 Certificate in Safety and Health for Business
    • NCRQ Level 6 Certificate in Applied Health and Safety
    • NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety
  • Mature learners (over 21) with practical experience at least 2 years
  • Learner must be 18 years or older at the beginning of the course

English requirements: If you are not from a majority English-speaking country, you must provide evidence of English language competency.

The Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety consists of 7 mandatory units for a combined total of 60 credits for the completed qualification.

  • Health and Safety Management Principles and Policy (8 credits)
  • Health and Safety Management Practice (10 credits)
  • Risk and Incident Management (8 credits)
  • Promoting a Positive Health and Safety Culture (6 credits)
  • Maintaining a Safe Workplace Environment (12 credits)
  • Health and Safety Law, Regulation and Influence (8 credits)
  • Development of the Health and Safety Practitioner (8 credits)

Duration and Delivery:

6 months live online via zoom with ongoing Learner Management System (LMS) support including discussion groups and one to one tutor support. All work is submitted via our LMS.
Assessment and verification

Assessment: each unit is assessed through coursework

Includes all live online classes
OTHM registration fees
Our core text
Ongoing access to our Learner Management System with active discussion groups including Tutor support throughout


Enquire Now

Contact form